Down, but not out

On Monday I had a little bit of a sore throat, which I wistfully chalked up to “dry air”. Not so. By Tuesday I was in the throes of a full-blown cold, with the sniffling, sneezing, coughing, aching, stuffy head, (no fever), cold. The whole nine yards. It seems to have moved through pretty quickly – by Thursday morning I felt like I’d been hit by a bus, but after sleeping all day it seemed to have gotten past the worst of it. I actually contemplated going to Yoga Thursday night, but fortunately sanity prevailed and I ended up staying home.

This morning when I got on the scale it said 178.6. I haven’t been below 179 in a couple of years, so even though I realize it’s the side effect of being sick, it’s still nice to see. It’s also a little kick-start to hopefully motivate me back to Yoga on Monday, as long as they’re still having the class – the instructor said something about going on vacation, hopefully they will have found a substitute.

This weekend there are two festivals at which I am dancing, so that’s another reason that I am glad this cold seems to have moved through quickly. We’ll see how well I can breathe at the end of dancing three choreographies in a relatively short period of time. It will also be interesting to see if between the weight loss from being sick and the spa wrap that I had done today, whether I need to do some last-second pinning for my costume!

Leave a Reply

