At least it wasn’t the elliptical

Tonight at the gym we had the cardio evaluation for the TEAM class. Basically it was “how far can you go on a treadmill in 30 minutes?” Not my most favoritest thing ever, but at least it wasn’t the elliptical. I did 1.9 miles, which is an average of 3.8 mph or so. I wasn’t pushing as hard as I probably could have, so I need to work on that inner motivation and drive that will make me push myself as hard as I know I can go. I can rationalize and make the excuse that I had a crazy day at work, but that’s just what it is – an excuse.

The two weeks leading up to a major event for work are always a pain and tiring. Add in the fact that I have three other events that I am working on at the same time, not to mention a bunch of other projects, and it gets even more entertaining.

I can still laugh about it – that means I haven’t hit my stress break point yet. But as we get closer and the questions from presenters get stupider, my tolerance gets lower.

Tomorrow I get to go to one of the events I’ve been working on, because we have 70 of our account management team from across our region in town for training. These are people I have talked to or emailed for various things over the past five years, so it will be neat to finally see what some of them look like. I also get to meet the new person I have recently been assigned to as admin support; spend time with the manager in Chicago that I have been supporting since October; get to see one of my past managers who keeps trying to get me to move to support him in his new role; and interact with the Region Head whom I have been assisting since July. Oh – and my actual manager that I report to on the org chart will be there, too. Work is not boring, that’s for sure.

I also got my lab numbers back from my blood test on Monday. Cholesterol is still high, but lower than it was in September, so that’s good. LDL is also too high, and working on that will be a priority. Everything else is good, yay!

Leave a Reply

