Jiggle all the way

I woke up at 6am and voluntarily crawled out of a nice warm bed, layered with Mini Schnauzers, to put on compression shorts, a sports bra, and running shoes. I may have mentioned that I don’t do mornings, so this was a challenge for me.

If you had asked me about the odds of me doing that two years ago, I would have laughed. A year ago I would have said “Maybe, depends on how cold it is.” and probably stayed in bed when the day came. But this year? This year I got up, got dressed, was pleasantly surprised to find it was around 60 degrees out, and went to the Jiggle Butt Run 5K.

I didn’t run – I wanted to see what would happen if I kept a constant walking pace, instead of run/walk like I had on New Year’s Day. According to RunKeeper I turned about a 14:46 minute mile, according to the event chip timing I turned a 15:04 minute mile. Either way it’s about 4mph, and I’m okay with that. I’m not competing against anyone except myself, and the only person I have to beat is me.

The next event I’m signed up for is the DFW Firefly Run in late March. It’s a night run, which means the start time is a much more Coyote-friendly 8:30pm.

All in all, a fun event, but if it had been thirty degrees colder I probably still would have stayed in bed. I did learn that 5Ks are a lot more entertaining while listening to David Tennant narrating an audiobook in my ears, though…

Leave a Reply

